Pilgrimage church “Zum gegeißelten Heiland” in the district of Wies (1746-57): a jewel of Bavarian Rococo and an old work by the Zimmermann brothers; congenial interplay of architecture, colors and penetrating light; UNESCO World Heritage Site, Copyright Gemeinde Steingaden/Werner Böglmüller
Highlights along the Romantic Road
Lechflößerei
Enjoy a trip along the fjord-like section of the middle Lechtal valley on the historic long-distance trade raft on the…
Historic marketplace
Historic marketplace In the historic marketplace, with its beautifully preserved half-timbered houses, some of which date back to the 16th…
Kalkbrenner chapel
After the birth of her 17th child at Christmas 1891, Franziska Schmid was dying. In this hopeless situation, Johann and…
St Mary of the Ascension Parish Church
St Mary of the Ascension Parish Church (1750-53): choir by the Wies architect, Dominikus Zimmermann; richly decorated High Altar by…
Monastery St. Mang
Former Benedictine Monastery of St. Mang (1701 – 1717): the present baroque buildings were constructed on medieval foundations. In the…












